Tread Depth

a machine
can be a lovely thing
with steel
one knows exactly where one stands

a micrometer
is a tiny beautiful sculpture
its shape
its weight
the inscribed lines

but as a source of truth
it’s more beautiful still
this bearing shell
at fifteen thou
is as good as the day that it was cast
this clutch plate
at 4.7 mm
is simply done
gone
bye bye

with steel
one knows exactly
where one stands

humans though
are more ephemeral
much less deterministic stuff
how much wear and tear
and how its shown
is really just a matter of surmise

how far down their thickness
how close to service limit
the chewing surfaces of my teeth are worn
isn’t like checking brake pads

there’s no tread depth gauge
in my toolbox anyway
that will let me check the meniscus in my knees
the disks in my back
the lining of the vessels that run though my heart
my brain

with my Avons what’s trivial
with me is impossible

“looks pretty good to me.
who knows how far she’ll run?”
who know how far i’ll run

with steel
one knows exactly
where one stands

***

g.
run hard and put up wet
wear and tear’s a terrible fact

One thought on “Tread Depth

  1. If you wake up in the morning and everything moves when you tell it to. You have another day of use/treadlife šŸ˜‰ Of course if you dont wake up…. Well thats a whole different kettle of fish……

Leave a Reply

